Opening day of 2020-2021 Season:
JK Sports Premier
Tralee Dynamos 3-5 Park Green
Mastergeeha 0-1 Killarney Celtic
12 Division 1
Killorglin 2-2 Iveragh United
Killarney Celtic B 1-1 Inter Kenmare Red
Castleisland 2-6 LB Rovers
St Brendan’s Park Red 5-1 Ballyheigue
12 Division 2 North
Camp Juniors 7-3 Fenit
Castleisland 0-5 LB Rovers
12 Division 2 South
Killarney Celtic C 0-2 Inter Kenmare
Killorglin 2-3 Mastergeeha B
Slattery’s Carpets and Blinds 14 Premier
Listowel Celtic 2-0 LB Rovers
Inter Kenmare 1-6 Killarney Athletic
Fenit 4-0 St Brendan’s Park
Killarney Celtic 1-5 Killoirglin
14 Division 1 South
Killarney Athletic 6-4 Mastergeeha B
Iveragh United 5-0 Killorglin B
14 Division 1 North
Tralee Dynamos 0-6 Dingle Bay Rovers
Tralee Trophy World 16 Premier
Iveragh United 1-1 Killorglin
St Brendan’s Park 1-3 Tralee Dynamos
16 Division 1
Fenit 2– 0 Dingle Bay Rovers
Match Reports:
Away wins in the 12’s Premier
In the JK Sports 12 Premier St Brendan’s Park Green won the first Tralee derby of the new season defeating Dynamos 5-3. But it was the home side who made the better start and thanks to goals from Calvin O’Sullivan, Eoghan Daly and Daniel Farmer the Dynamos were 3-1 up at the break
However The Park took over in the second half scoring 4 without reply with Edison Jahiri 2, Damola Idowu and Danny Kingston on the mark to secure the win.
The game in Kilbrean Park was much closer between Mastergeeha and Killarney Celtic. And it was the visitors who got the only goal of the game when Jack Culloty was fouled on 20 minutes and Mark Looney’s free kick was unstoppable to give Celtic the win.
Two draws and two wins in 12’s Division 1
Killorglin had two goals from Sean Doherty and Noah Eaton in the first half to lead 2-1 at home to Iveragh United. Kieran Dwyer got the Iveragh goal and he levelled the game after the break with his second earning the South Kerry side a point.
Killarney Celtic B and Inter Kenmare Red shared the points in a 1-1 draw at Celtic Park. Both goals came in the second half with Jack O’Shea put the home side ahead before Kai Gul equalised.
LB Rovers opened their campaign on the road with a 6-2 win at Georgie O’Callaghan Park. Odhran Buckley, Odhran Barry and Brodie Mulvihill all hit two goals for the winners with Tadgh McCarthy getting both for Castleisland.
St Brendan’s Park Red were the only home side to take 3 points on the opening win in this Division. Seadhna O’Brien hit a hat-trick with Dylan Gallowey and Rhys O’Connor also scoring for the Park with Shay Barrett getting the Ballyheigue goal who had a great display from their keeper Sam Keane.
Plenty goals in 12 Division 2 North
Conor Flaherty had a first day of the season to remember when he hit four goals for Camp Juniors in their 7-3 win at home to Fenit. Ollie McGuigan with 2 and Brandon Griffin were the other scorers. For Fenit Conor Nolan hit a hat-trick.
LB Rovers made the trip to Castleisland to take on the B’s and took home the 3 points thanks to goals from Sean Allen 3, Tomas Scanlon and Leona Meaney.
Much tighter in Division 2 South:
There were also two games in the 12 Division 2 South with Inter Kenmare winning 2-0 away at Killarney Celtic C. Dean Sweeney and Tony Desmond scored for Inter.
In the other game Mastergeeha B were 3-2 winners away at Killorglin. Sean Fleming, Colin Summers and Adam O’Connor hit the net for the Kilbrean side while Peter O’Shea and Darragh O’Connor got the Killorglin goals.
Mastergeeha in 13’s Division 1 Play-off final:
With a small number of Divisions not finished when sport shut down the 13’s Division 1 play-off final will see Mastergeeha welcome Iveragh United. Sean McAuliffe and Evan O’Sullivan were on the mark for Mastergeeha as they defeated Camp Juniors 2-1. David Moore got the goal for Camp Juniors but they just could not find an equaliser despite some very impressive play.
Two home and two away wins in 14 Premier
There were 4 games played in the Slattery’s Carpets and Blinds 14 Premier Division. 2 gaols from John Carmody gave Listowel Celtic all three points in a 2-0 home win over LB Rovers.
Also winning at home were Fenit who defeated St Brendan’s Park 4-0 with both Aaron Harty and Cian McKenna both scoring two each.
Killarney Athletic hit three goals in both halves in their 6-1 win away at Inter Kenmare. Luke Doolan hit 3, Fionn Daly 2 and Syzom Jasinski the other for the Woodlawn side while Michael Tagney replied for Inter. However this game would have been much closer except for Athletic keeper Kacper Robak who made a number of great saves.
James Jones set out his stall early hitting 4 goals on day 1 for Killorglin away to Killarney Celtic. Cormac Moriarty added a 5th while Oisin Fleming pulled one back for the Hoops.
Two home wins in 14 Division 1 South
Killarney Athletic and Mastergeeha B met in Woodlawn with the home side winning 6-4 after leading 3-2 at the break. Luke Courtney, Shane Doolan and Guillermo got the Athletic goals while Jack Murphy 2, Brian O’Sullivan and Thomas Myers hit the goals for Mastergeeha B.
Ivergh United were only 1-0 up at home to Killorglin B but they pulled away in the second half to win 5-0. Daithi Sugrue 2, Naoise Sugrue, Marc O’Connor and Alex Kelly scored for the winners.
Dynamos win at home in 16 Premier
There was another Tralee derby in the JK Sports 16 Premier with Dynamos winning this one 3-1 thanks to two goals from Darragh Cunnane and one from Paddy McMahon. Jack Slattery scored for the Park with player of the match Nathan Aherne involved.
In the other game in this Division after a goalless first half a goal from Zac Feyen after the break saw Iveragh United draw at home to Killorglin.
One game in 16 Division 1:
There was one game played on Sunday with Fenit hosting Dingle Bay Rovers. And it was Fenit that took the win 2-0 thanks to goals from Rory Boyd and Noah Townsend with Jerh Brosnan their best player on the day. For Dingle Bay Antaine O’Seaghdha was the best player on the day.
Team of the Week
Jonah Casey
Mastergeeha 12’s
Danny Kingston Dylan McSherry Conor Feeley Cian Stack
St Brendan’s Park 12’s LB Rovers 12’s Listowel Celtic 14’s Killarney Celtic 12’s
Conor Flaherty Charlie Foley Conor Nolan Sean O’Mahony
Camp Juniors 12’s Killorglin 12’s Fenit Samphires 12’s Tralee Dynamos 12’s
Tadgh McCarthy Kieran Dwyer
Castleisland 12’s Iveragh United 12’s