Ireland U15s secure second victory over Scotland

Scotland 0 Republic of Ireland 2

THE Republic of Ireland U15 side wrapped up their programme for the season with an impressive 2-0 victory over Scotland at East End Park, Dunfermline, today.

First half goals from West Ham’s Anthony Scully and Thomas Byrne of St Kevin’s Boys FC sealed the win for Colin O’Brien’s side.

Scully found the net in the 14th minute after excellent build-up play for the Irish through midfield.

Byrne added the second goal in the 39th minute with an excellent strike from outside the box.

“It was a very pleasing performance. Again we produced a very good first half display – especially a 25 minute period where we built up the play very well,” said O’Brien.

“We scored two good goals with some excellent attacking play but with a bit more composure we may have scored one or two more before the break.

“Scotland had a bit of control in the second half and got into our half using direct play and direct running. Our keeper Ian Giltinan made a couple of good saves late on. The players had to defend well.

“We didn’t create as many chances after the break as we did in the first half but we made changes for this game and the players all acquitted themselves very well.”

O’Brien’s side beat the Scots 3-2 on Monday and overall he is delighted with how the squad performed in Scotland and over the season as a whole.

“It’s been a very pleasing week. The players all got further opportunities to play for their country and add to their experience,” he said.
“They go back to their clubs now and they’ve been a credit to both their clubs and the regional ETP centres where they have worked for the past year or two.”

REPUBLIC OF IRELAND: Ian Giltinan (Carrigaline Utd), Daniel McKenna (Belvedere), Evan Murphy (Salthill Devon), Aaron O’Driscoll (Cherry Orchard), Rian O’Sullivan (Kingdom Boys), Michael Murphy (Raheny United), Jayson Molumby (Villa FC), Thomas Byrne (St Kevin’s Boys), Thomas O’Connor (New Ross Celtic), Luke Kiely (Carrick United FC), Anthony Scully (West Ham Utd). Subs: Alec Byrne (Carrigaline Utd) for McKenna 41 mins, Lee Rock (Ashbourne Utd) for O’Driscoll 41, Shane Stokes (St Kevin’s Boys) for Scully 41, Tyreke Wilson (Cherry Orchard) for Molumby 60, Jamie Hamilton (Belvedere) for Kiely 70, Eoin Porter (New Ross Celtic) for O’Connor 70.